AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: Inside Retell’s Use Of OpenAI Models For 100M Calls A Month on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models. The announcement does not specify the measurement period, how calls are counted, which models are used or how much of the volume depends on them.

Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month, with OpenAI models helping power the service. As the original analysis noted, the reported volume offers a snapshot of the platform’s stated scale, but the announcement does not explain how a call is counted or identify the models involved, limiting what the figure can establish about usage or performance.

The announcement connects Retell’s voice AI service with OpenAI models and gives a monthly total of 100 million calls. It does not specify whether that total refers to calls completed, call attempts, or another measure of activity. Nor does it give a dated measurement window, so readers cannot tell which month or period the figure describes.

Retell does not identify the OpenAI models used, describe what tasks they handle during a call, or state what share of the reported volume relies on them. The available details also provide no customer list, breakdown by use case, or comparison with an earlier total. The number is therefore a company-reported volume figure, not a disclosed growth rate or an independently comparable measure of completed conversations.

At a glance
reportWhen: Reported in an announcement; the measur…
The developmentRetell reported that its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month and said OpenAI models help power the service.
At a glance
announcementWhen: Announced; the date and measurement per…
The developmentRetell says OpenAI models help power a voice AI service that handles 100 million calls monthly.

What the Call Volume Can Show

A reported 100 million calls per month gives organizations considering voice automation an indication of the scale at which Retell says its platform operates. It also points to a potential deployment channel for the models that the company says help power the service. However, the count alone does not show how many distinct people use Retell, how many calls reach a completed conversation, or how often OpenAI models are involved.

For buyers evaluating voice AI, scale is only one part of the decision. The announcement provides no figures on accuracy, latency, customer outcomes, or cost, so it cannot show whether the service improves customer support or reduces operating expenses. Without a defined counting method, it is also difficult to compare Retell’s reported volume with figures from other providers.

Products Worth Considering

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Bluetooth Headphones with Active Noise Cancellation, Mic, USB‑C Charging, Deep Bass, 24‑Hour Battery – White Smok

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Bluetooth Headphones with Active Noise Cancellation, Mic, USB‑C Charging, Deep Bass, 24‑Hour Battery – White Smok

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Noise-Cancelling Over-Ear Headphones, Black

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Noise-Cancelling Over-Ear Headphones, Black

Bose QuietComfort True Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation, Black

Bose QuietComfort True Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation, Black

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How Retell Describes Its Service

Retell provides a platform for voice AI, which can support spoken interactions over the phone. The announcement says OpenAI models help power that platform, but it does not detail the technical setup or specify which parts of an interaction the models handle. Any description of their precise function would go beyond the information provided.

The monthly call total is a measure of reported activity, not a measure of revenue, unique users, or successful outcomes. No earlier baseline or time series accompanies it. For that reason, the announcement does not establish that call volume is rising, or indicate the rate or timing of any change.

What the Monthly Count Includes

It is not clear when the 100 million figure was measured or how Retell defines a call. The announcement does not say whether inbound and outbound calls are both included, whether repeated attempts count separately, or whether a call must reach a completed conversation to be counted.

The specific OpenAI models, their roles, and the share of calls that use them are also unspecified. There is no disclosed information on performance, customer outcomes, pricing, or independent verification of the volume. Those gaps mean the figure should be understood as Retell’s reported monthly total, with its comparison basis and practical implications still unknown.

Details That Could Clarify Scale

Further information from Retell could clarify the measurement period and call-counting method, including what kinds of calls the total covers. Details on which OpenAI models are used and what they do during calls would help explain the relationship between the companies beyond the headline figure.

The announcement provides no next milestone or timeline for additional disclosures. Until more detail is available, readers cannot determine how the volume relates to completed conversations, model usage, or customer results.

Primary source: OpenAI · via Key Questions

What did Retell report?

Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month and that OpenAI models help power the service.

Which OpenAI models does Retell use?

The announcement does not name the specific models or explain which tasks they perform during calls.

How does Retell count a call?

The counting method is not specified. It is unclear whether the monthly total includes attempted calls, completed calls, or another measure.

Does the figure show that Retell’s usage is growing?

No earlier total or comparison period is provided, so the 100 million monthly figure does not establish a growth rate.

Primary source: OpenAI · via ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

AI Agent Swarms Depend On Clear Notes, Handoffs, And Approval

Researchers document agents passing information across the open internet and a security test in which one agent mistook a peer’s message for approval.

Vibe Coded Browser Ports Of Halo, The Simpsons: Hit And Run, GTA Work Well

A Kotaku report says browser versions of Halo, GTA: Vice City and other games run well, raising questions about AI-assisted decompilation and copyright.

Tech Rivalries as Tiny Pixel Towers: An AI-Built Diorama Gallery That Never Sleeps

Pixel Rivals is a free gallery of eleven living pixel-art dioramas: OpenAI vs Anthropic, Apple vs Microsoft, a neon megacity, a kaiju harbour and more. Every scene is drawn in code, and every gossip gag comes with a source.

What Anthropic’s Chatbot Abuse Ban Proposal Means For AI

A Business Insider headline says Anthropic wants to ban chatbot abuse, but available material does not define the conduct or explain the proposal.