For a balanced mix of outlet capacity and rack-ready surge protection, I’d start with the Eaton Tripp Lite IBAR12ULTRA; the CyberPower CPS1215RMS is another strong option for a 12-outlet setup, while the StarTech RKPW081915 suits buyers who value a clearly specified 1U, 15A format. The main tradeoff is between fitting more devices into a rack and choosing a layout that leaves room for bulky plugs, cables, and ventilation. Products labeled as power strips or PDUs can differ in protection details, so I’d check the published electrical and surge specifications rather than rely on the name alone. Read on for the full comparison, selection criteria, and guidance on matching a suppressor to your rack and equipment.
Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The Eaton Tripp Lite IBAR12ULTRA and CyberPower CPS1215RMS both offer 12 outlets, making them more suitable for racks with several devices than the 8-outlet options.
- Outlet count is not the same as usable capacity: the 19-outlet Pyle PCO865 adds USB ports, but dense layouts can be less convenient when equipment uses large power adapters.
- The StarTech RKPW081915 stands out for clearly stated 1U, 120V/15A specifications, a useful distinction when confirming compatibility with a standard rack and power circuit.
- Individual switches change day-to-day control, not surge protection: the Jgstkcity’s switched outlets may help isolate devices, but buyers should not treat switches as a substitute for protection ratings.
- Many listed products have 8 or 12 outlets and a 6-foot cord; the best fit depends on rack depth, cord routing, plug shape, and documented protection details—not outlet count alone.
| Pyle 15 Amp Rack-Mount Power Strip with 9 Outlets | ![]() | Best for Noise-Sensitive AV Racks | Outlets: 9 individually switched | Maximum current: 15 A | Voltage: 230 V | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| CENTROPOWER 1U Rackmount Power Strip with 10 Outlets | ![]() | Best for Outlet Capacity | Outlets: 10 NEMA 5-15R | Maximum current: 15 A | Voltage: 100–240 V | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Jgstkcity 8-Outlet 1.5U Rackmount PDU Power Strip with Individual Switches | ![]() | Best for Flexible Rack Mounting | Outlets: 8 individually switched | Rack size: 1.5U; fits standard 19-inch racks | Surge protection: 2,700 joules | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Eaton Tripp Lite IBAR12ULTRA 12-Outlet Rackmount Isobar Surge Protector | ![]() | Best Premium Protection | Outlets: 12: 2 front, 10 rear | Voltage and current: 120 V; 15 A | Surge protection: 3,840 joules | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Tecmojo 1U Rack-Mount 8-Outlet PDU with Surge Protection | ![]() | Best for Light-Duty Racks | Outlets: 8 NEMA 5-15R | Maximum current: 12 A | Input plug: NEMA 5-15P, Type B | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Tecmojo 1U Rackmount PDU Surge Protector, 12 Outlets | ![]() | Best for Front-and-Rear Outlet Access | Rack size: 1U | Outlets: 12: 6 front and 6 rear wide-spaced | Surge protection: 1,700 joules | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| HHSOET 8-Outlet 1U Rack-Mount Power Strip with Surge Protection, 6 ft Cord | ![]() | Best for Individually Switched Devices | Rack size: 1U, compatible with 19-inch racks | Outlets: 8 | Surge protection: 1,200 joules | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| CyberPower CPS1215RMS 12-Outlet Rackmount Surge Protector | ![]() | Best Overall for 15 A, 12-Outlet Racks | Model: CPS1215RMS | Rack size: 1U | Outlets: 12 NEMA 5-15R: 6 front and 6 rear | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| BTU 1U Rack-Mount Surge Protector Power Strip, 8 Outlets, 6 ft Cord | ![]() | Best for Flexible Mounting and Larger Plugs | Rack size: 1U, 19-inch | Outlets: 8, widely spaced | Surge protection: 300 joules | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| StarTech 8-Outlet 1U Rack-Mount PDU, 120V/15A, Surge Protection, 6 ft Cord (RKPW081915) | ![]() | Best for Compact 15 A Rack Installs | Model: RKPW081915 | Rack size and fit: 1U; 19-inch racks at least 4 inches deep | Outlets: 8 | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| BTU 12-Outlet Rack-Mount Power Strip Surge Protector, 15A, 6 ft Cord | ![]() | Best for Widely Spaced Plugs | Outlets: 12, widely spaced | Rack format: 1U, standard 19-inch rack | Surge protection: 160 joules | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 8 Outlet Rack Mount PDU Power Strip, 15A, 125V, 1875W | ![]() | Best for a Simple, Rugged Rack Strip | Outlets: 8 | Rack format: 1U, standard 19-inch rack | Maximum current: 15 A | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Pyle PCO865 19-Outlet 1U Rackmount Power Distribution Unit with 4 USB Ports | ![]() | Best for High Outlet Capacity | Outlets: 19 total: 3 front and 16 rear | USB ports: 4 | Rack format: 1U, 19-inch rack | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| CyberPower RKBS15S2F10R Rackmount Surge Protector | ![]() | Best for High Surge Capacity | Outlets: 12: 2 front and 10 rear | Surge protection: 3600 joules | Voltage and current: 120 V, 15 A | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| VEVOR 8-Outlet 1U Rack-Mount PDU Power Strip with Surge and Overload Protection | ![]() | Best Compact Metal Pick | Outlets: 8, NEMA 5-15P | Rack format: 1U, 19-inch rack | Surge protection: 1800 joules | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| rackmount surge suppressor | Outlets | Surge protection | Power cord | Voltage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pyle 15 Amp Rack-Mount Power S | 9 individually switched | 1,800 joules | — | 230 V |
| CENTROPOWER 1U Rackmount Power | 10 NEMA 5-15R | — | — | 100–240 V |
| Jgstkcity 8-Outlet 1.5U Rackmo | 8 individually switched | 2,700 joules | — | — |
| Eaton Tripp Lite IBAR12ULTRA 1 | 12: 2 front, 10 rear | 3,840 joules | — | — |
| Tecmojo 1U Rack-Mount 8-Outlet | 8 NEMA 5-15R | — | — | — |
| Tecmojo 1U Rackmount PDU Surge | 12: 6 front and 6 rear wide-spaced | 1,700 joules | 6 ft | 120 V |
| HHSOET 8-Outlet 1U Rack-Mount | 8 | 1,200 joules | 6 ft | 125 V |
| CyberPower CPS1215RMS 12-Outle | 12 NEMA 5-15R: 6 front and 6 rear | 1,800 joules | 15 ft | — |
| BTU 1U Rack-Mount Surge Protec | 8, widely spaced | 300 joules | 6 ft | — |
| StarTech 8-Outlet 1U Rack-Moun | 8 | — | 6 ft (1.8 m) | — |
| BTU 12-Outlet Rack-Mount Power | 12, widely spaced | 160 joules | 6 ft | 120 V |
| 8 Outlet Rack Mount PDU Power | 8 | — | 6 ft, 14 AWG | 125 V |
| Pyle PCO865 19-Outlet 1U Rackm | 19 total: 3 front and 16 rear | — | 15 ft | 240 V |
| CyberPower RKBS15S2F10R Rackmo | 12: 2 front and 10 rear | 3600 joules | 15 ft | — |
| VEVOR 8-Outlet 1U Rack-Mount P | 8, NEMA 5-15P | 1800 joules | 6 ft, 14/3 AWG | 110–125 V |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Pyle 15 Amp Rack-Mount Power Strip with 9 Outlets
I’d choose the Pyle when outlet-by-outlet control and line-noise filtering matter as much as surge protection. Its nine individually switched outlets make it easier to isolate gear for troubleshooting or shut down selected components, while the 1,800-joule rating and built-in breaker add protection against surges and overloads. The EMI/RFI filter is a useful distinction from the CENTROPOWER, which offers one more outlet but does not list noise filtering. Pyle also includes LED status indicators and a flat plug, though its Type A plug may not suit every installation. The 6-foot cord is shorter than the Eaton Tripp Lite IBAR12ULTRA’s 15-foot lead, and nine outlets give less capacity than either model. I’d skip it if rack mounting or its plug type does not fit your setup.
Pros:- Nine individually switched outlets allow selective control of connected gear.
- 1,800-joule surge protection and a built-in circuit breaker provide surge and overload protection.
- EMI/RFI filtering and LED indicators support noise-sensitive AV or studio setups.
- 1U steel chassis, six-foot cord, and flat plug suit many rack installations.
Cons:- The six-foot cord is much shorter than the Eaton Tripp Lite IBAR12ULTRA’s 15-foot cord.
- Type A plug compatibility may limit where it can be connected.
- Rack-focused design may not suit users who need a freestanding power strip.
Best for: Home-studio and AV-rack owners who want individually switched outlets and EMI/RFI filtering for connected equipment.
Not ideal for: Installations needing more than nine outlets, a longer reach than six feet, or a plug type other than Type A.
- Outlets:9 individually switched
- Maximum current:15 A
- Voltage:230 V
- Surge protection:1,800 joules
- Noise filtering:EMI/RFI filter
- Chassis:1U steel
- Cord and plug:6 ft; Type A; flat plug
- Dimensions:19 in L × 8.27 in W
Our verdict“Choose the Pyle for a rack that needs individually switched outlets and listed EMI/RFI filtering, but check plug compatibility and cord reach first.”
CENTROPOWER 1U Rackmount Power Strip with 10 Outlets
The CENTROPOWER is the capacity pick here: its 10 individually switched outlets offer one more connection than the Pyle and two more than the Jgstkcity, without moving beyond a 1U rack format. Independent LED switches make it practical to control devices separately, and the circuit breaker with overcurrent reset gives the operator a way to respond to an overload. A cord retention tray helps keep the six-foot lead organized. The tradeoff is that the product data lists electrical protection, not a joule rating or specific surge specification, so buyers who want a stated surge capacity may prefer the Eaton Tripp Lite IBAR12ULTRA or Pyle. It also needs a rack at least four inches deep. I’d pick it for dense equipment layouts, not for shallow racks or buyers prioritizing documented surge performance.
Pros:- Ten NEMA 5-15R outlets provide more connections than the Pyle and Jgstkcity.
- Independent LED switches allow control of each outlet.
- Circuit breaker and overcurrent reset switch support overload response.
- Six-foot cord, metal housing, and cord retention tray suit rack installation.
Cons:- Requires a rack at least four inches deep.
- The supplied product data does not state a joule rating or specific surge-protection capacity.
- Six-foot cord offers less placement flexibility than the Eaton Tripp Lite IBAR12ULTRA’s 15-foot cord.
Best for: IT and AV operators who need many independently switched connections in a standard 19-inch rack at least four inches deep.
Not ideal for: Owners of shallow racks or buyers who require a published joule rating and clearly specified surge-protection capacity.
- Outlets:10 NEMA 5-15R
- Maximum current:15 A
- Voltage:100–240 V
- Rack compatibility:19-inch racks, 4 inches or deeper
- Cord length:6 ft (1.8 m)
- Plug:Type B, 3-pin
- Enclosure:Metal
- Protection and controls:Circuit breaker, overcurrent reset, independent LED outlet switches
Our verdict“Pick the CENTROPOWER when ten switched outlets are the priority and your rack meets its four-inch depth requirement.”
Jgstkcity 8-Outlet 1.5U Rackmount PDU Power Strip with Individual Switches
The Jgstkcity earns its place for buyers who need two installation options and individually controlled outlets, rather than the highest outlet count. Its 2,700-joule surge rating is higher than the Pyle’s 1,800 joules, while the heavy-duty metal construction is a sturdier-sounding fit for rack use than the Tecmojo’s mixed copper, plastic, and rubber materials. That protection and build come with a space tradeoff: this is a 1.5U unit, so it occupies more rack height than the 1U Pyle or Eaton Tripp Lite IBAR12ULTRA. Eight outlets also trail the CENTROPOWER’s 10 and Eaton’s 12. The product data does not specify maximum current or voltage, which leaves less electrical detail to check before deployment. I’d favor it when mounting flexibility matters, but verify system requirements first.
Pros:- 2,700-joule surge rating exceeds the Pyle’s listed 1,800 joules.
- Eight individually switched outlets allow selective equipment control.
- Heavy-duty metal construction is suited to rack installations.
- Two installation options offer more mounting flexibility than a single-position design.
Cons:- 1.5U height uses more rack space than the 1U Pyle and Eaton Tripp Lite models.
- Eight outlets provide fewer connections than the CENTROPOWER and Eaton Tripp Lite IBAR12ULTRA.
- The supplied data does not specify voltage or maximum current.
Best for: Rack owners who value multiple installation options, metal construction, individual outlet control, and a stated surge rating.
Not ideal for: Users with limited rack height or installations that require clearly documented voltage and maximum-current specifications.
- Outlets:8 individually switched
- Rack size:1.5U; fits standard 19-inch racks
- Surge protection:2,700 joules
- Cord length:6 ft braided extension cord
- Construction:Heavy-duty metal
- Outlet controls:Individual LED switches
- Installation:Two options
Our verdict“Choose the Jgstkcity if its two mounting options and 2,700-joule rating outweigh the extra rack height and missing electrical details.”
Eaton Tripp Lite IBAR12ULTRA 12-Outlet Rackmount Isobar Surge Protector
For a rack where documented protection and outlet count outweigh simplicity, I’d put the Eaton Tripp Lite IBAR12ULTRA first. It combines 12 outlets with a 3,840-joule surge rating and isolated filter banks rated to limit EMI/RFI line noise by up to 80 dB. That is a more protection-focused specification set than the CENTROPOWER’s 10 outlets, whose supplied details do not include a joule rating or noise-filter figure. Two front outlets also make occasional connections easier while 10 remain at the rear. The 15-foot cord and rack, wall, or under-counter mounting options help with placement, though toolless 0U vertical mounting needs an optional bracket. It is heavier and more specialized than the compact Tecmojo, and its connected-equipment insurance has geographic limits. I’d choose it for demanding racks, not basic outlet expansion.
Pros:- Twelve outlets include two front-facing connections and 10 rear outlets.
- 3,840-joule surge rating and isolated filter banks provide substantial listed protection features.
- EMI/RFI line-noise filtering is rated up to 80 dB.
- Fifteen-foot cord and rack, wall, or under-counter mounting support flexible placement.
Cons:- Toolless 0U vertical installation requires an optional bracket.
- Connected-equipment insurance is limited to the United States, Canada, and Puerto Rico.
- At 5.9 lb, it is heavier than the Tecmojo’s listed 2.3 lb.
Best for: AV, server, and network rack owners seeking a high stated surge rating, strong line-noise filtering, and 12 outlets.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a lightweight, simple 1U strip or planning to rely on connected-equipment coverage outside the United States, Canada, or Puerto Rico.
- Outlets:12: 2 front, 10 rear
- Voltage and current:120 V; 15 A
- Surge protection:3,840 joules
- Line-noise filtering:Up to 80 dB EMI/RFI; isolated filter banks
- Rack size:1U; standard 19-inch racks
- Cord length:15 ft (4.6 m)
- Dimensions and weight:4.02 × 17.52 in; 5.9 lb
- Mounting and enclosure:Rack, wall, or under-counter; metal
- Warranty and connected-equipment insurance:Lifetime limited manufacturer warranty; $25,000 coverage
Our verdict“Choose the Eaton Tripp Lite IBAR12ULTRA for a protection-focused rack with 12 devices, especially when its long cord and mounting options are useful.”
Tecmojo 1U Rack-Mount 8-Outlet PDU with Surge Protection
The Tecmojo is the straightforward choice for a smaller rack that needs basic surge protection and status checks without filling much space. Its 1U profile, eight NEMA 5-15R outlets, and power, earth, and surge indicators make it easier to confirm the unit’s listed status at a glance. Compared with the Jgstkcity, it takes less rack height, but its maximum current is only 12 A rather than a stated 15 A on the Pyle, CENTROPOWER, and Eaton Tripp Lite models. That makes load planning especially important. Tecmojo lists UL certification and a three-year warranty, but does not give a joule rating, so buyers seeking a quantified surge capacity should look to the Eaton or Jgstkcity instead. I’d use this for modest network or office equipment, not a high-load rack.
Pros:- Compact 1U format fits standard rack layouts without the Jgstkcity’s extra half-unit of height.
- Eight NEMA 5-15R outlets provide connections for a small rack.
- Power, earth, and surge indicators make operating status visible.
- UL listed, with a stated three-year warranty.
Cons:- Maximum current is limited to 12 A, below the 15 A rating listed for several alternatives.
- No joule rating is provided in the supplied product data.
- Six-foot cord offers less reach than the Eaton Tripp Lite IBAR12ULTRA’s 15-foot cord.
Best for: Small-office and home-network owners who need a compact 1U strip for a modest load and want visible power, earth, and surge indicators.
Not ideal for: Operators powering higher-current rack equipment or buyers who require a stated joule rating for surge protection.
- Outlets:8 NEMA 5-15R
- Maximum current:12 A
- Input plug:NEMA 5-15P, Type B
- Rack size:1U
- Dimensions and weight:19 × 1.7 × 1.7 in; 2.3 lb
- Cord length:6 ft
- Surge protection and indicators:Surge protection; power, earth, and surge indicators
- Certification and warranty:UL listed; 3 years
Our verdict“Pick the Tecmojo for a compact, modest-load rack where visible status indicators matter more than a higher current rating or published joule figure.”
Tecmojo 1U Rackmount PDU Surge Protector, 12 Outlets
For a rack where cable direction and plug clearance matter, I’d shortlist the Tecmojo 12-outlet PDU. Its six front outlets keep frequently accessed connections within reach, while six wide-spaced rear outlets make room for bulkier plugs behind the rack. That layout is more flexible than the all-eight-outlet approach of the StarTech RKPW081915, though StarTech supports up to 15 A versus Tecmojo’s 12 A. Tecmojo also provides 1,700 joules of surge protection, status LEDs, and a steel enclosure in a standard 1U form. The tradeoff is its lower current limit and six-foot cord, which may constrain higher-load installations or racks positioned farther from a receptacle. I’d choose it for mixed front-and-rear access, not for a 15 A setup.
Pros:- Twelve outlets split evenly between front and rear
- Wide spacing on the rear outlets helps accommodate larger plugs
- 1,700-joule surge protection with power, ground, and surge status LEDs
- Steel enclosure and standard 1U rack format
Cons:- 12 A maximum current is lower than the 15 A capacity of the StarTech and CyberPower options
- Six-foot cord may be short for racks set farther from the power source
Best for: Home-office and small-network rack owners who want 12 outlets split between accessible front connections and rear equipment, and whose load stays within 12 A.
Not ideal for: Buyers running a 15 A rack or needing a longer cord; the 12 A limit and six-foot lead may not fit their setup.
- Rack size:1U
- Outlets:12: 6 front and 6 rear wide-spaced
- Surge protection:1,700 joules
- Voltage:120 V
- Maximum current:12 A
- Power cord:6 ft
- Enclosure:Alloy steel
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Choose Tecmojo if you want 12 front-and-rear outlets with wide rear spacing and your rack does not need more than 12 A.”
HHSOET 8-Outlet 1U Rack-Mount Power Strip with Surge Protection, 6 ft Cord
The HHSOET’s defining feature is not its outlet count but its eight individual lighted switches. I’d favor it for a rack with peripherals that need separate manual shutoff, since each outlet can be controlled without unplugging gear. Compared with the BTU 1U Rack-Mount Surge Protector, it offers more granular power control; BTU instead emphasizes widely spaced outlets and horizontal or vertical mounting. HHSOET pairs the switches with 1,200-joule surge protection and a built-in circuit breaker in a metal-shell 1U unit with swiveling, stowable tabs. Its limitations are the eight-outlet count and a Type A, 2-pin plug, which is less suited to buyers specifying a grounded Type B connection. The one-year warranty is also shorter than the three-year coverage listed for Tecmojo and CyberPower.
Pros:- Eight individually switched outlets with lighted switches
- 1,200-joule surge protection and a built-in circuit breaker
- Swiveling, stowable mounting tabs fit 19-inch racks
- Metal enclosure
Cons:- Eight outlets provide less capacity than the 12-outlet Tecmojo and CyberPower models
- Type A, 2-pin plug may not suit installations that require a grounded Type B connection
- One-year warranty is shorter than the three-year coverage listed for several alternatives
Best for: Rack owners with up to eight devices who want to switch each outlet independently, such as installers managing peripherals or equipment that is shut down separately.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need 12 outlets, a Type B grounded plug, or a longer warranty; this model has eight outlets, a Type A 2-pin plug, and one-year coverage.
- Rack size:1U, compatible with 19-inch racks
- Outlets:8
- Surge protection:1,200 joules
- Voltage:125 V
- Switches:8 individual lighted switches
- Power cord:6 ft
- Plug type:Type A, 2-pin
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Pick HHSOET when individual outlet switches matter more than maximum outlet count or a grounded Type B plug.”
CyberPower CPS1215RMS 12-Outlet Rackmount Surge Protector
The CyberPower CPS1215RMS is my strongest fit for a rack that needs 12 outlets without giving up a 15 A rating. It combines 1,800 joules of surge protection with a circuit breaker and EMI/RFI noise filtering, while its six front and six rear outlets make connections easier to divide by access or cable direction. Compared with the Tecmojo 12-outlet PDU, CyberPower accepts 15 A rather than 12 A and adds a 15-foot cord, giving it more placement flexibility. The extra reach can matter when the rack is not close to its receptacle. Its tradeoff is that it still takes 1U of rack space and has no individually switched outlets like the HHSOET. The flexible horizontal or vertical mounting is useful, but buyers without a rack will get little benefit from its form factor.
Pros:- 12 outlets split between front and rear
- 1,800-joule surge protection with EMI/RFI noise filtering
- 15 A maximum current and a circuit breaker
- 15-foot cord with horizontal or vertical mounting options
Cons:- Requires rack space, so its 1U design is not a natural fit for a desktop-only setup
- Does not offer the individual outlet switches found on the HHSOET
Best for: Network administrators and home-lab owners who need 12 outlets on a 15 A circuit, plus a longer cord for flexible rack placement.
Not ideal for: People without rack space or buyers who need individually switched outlets; the CyberPower is rack-focused and lacks the HHSOET’s per-outlet switches.
- Model:CPS1215RMS
- Rack size:1U
- Outlets:12 NEMA 5-15R: 6 front and 6 rear
- Surge protection:1,800 joules
- Voltage and current:120 V, 15 A maximum
- Power cord:15 ft
- Mounting:Horizontal or vertical
- Housing:Metal
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Choose the CyberPower for a 15 A rack that needs 12 outlets, stronger listed surge capacity, and extra cord reach.”
BTU 1U Rack-Mount Surge Protector Power Strip, 8 Outlets, 6 ft Cord
The BTU is a practical pick when outlet spacing and mounting direction matter more than a high surge rating. Its eight widely spaced outlets can accept larger adapters more easily than a tightly packed strip, and the included brackets support both horizontal and vertical installation. That gives it a different role from the HHSOET 8-outlet model, which adds individual switches but does not list the same horizontal-or-vertical mounting options. BTU also has a 15 A circuit breaker and a covered power switch in a steel case. The main compromise is its listed 300-joule surge protection, far below the 1,200 joules on HHSOET and 1,800 joules on CyberPower. I’d treat this as a rugged rack power strip with basic surge protection, not the strongest choice for equipment where surge capacity is the priority.
Pros:- Eight widely spaced outlets help fit larger plugs
- Brackets support horizontal or vertical mounting
- 15 A circuit breaker and covered on/off switch
- Steel casing
Cons:- 300-joule surge protection is lower than the ratings listed for the other reviewed surge protectors
- Six-foot cord may limit placement flexibility
- 12-month warranty is shorter than the three-year coverage listed for Tecmojo and CyberPower
Best for: Workshop, AV, and server-rack owners who need widely spaced outlets and the option to mount the unit horizontally or vertically.
Not ideal for: Buyers prioritizing higher listed surge capacity; its 300-joule rating is well below the HHSOET and CyberPower figures.
- Rack size:1U, 19-inch
- Outlets:8, widely spaced
- Surge protection:300 joules
- Voltage and current:125 V, 15 A maximum
- Power cord:6 ft
- Mounting:Horizontal or vertical
- Material:Steel
- Warranty:12 months
Our verdict“Choose BTU for generous plug spacing and flexible mounting, but select another option if surge rating is your main priority.”
StarTech 8-Outlet 1U Rack-Mount PDU, 120V/15A, Surge Protection, 6 ft Cord (RKPW081915)
For a standard 19-inch rack with limited room, the StarTech RKPW081915 keeps the setup straightforward: eight outlets in 1U, a 15 A rating, a built-in circuit breaker, and LEDs for surge and ground status. Its illuminated power/reset switch makes power state easy to check at the rack. Compared with the CyberPower CPS1215RMS, StarTech gives up four outlets and CyberPower’s longer 15-foot cord, but keeps the layout simple for installations that only need eight connections. The steel chassis and six-foot cord suit a rack close to its power source. It is specified for 19-inch racks at least four inches deep, so shallow or nonstandard installations should check fit before choosing it. I’d rank it for a focused 15 A setup, not a high-outlet-count rack.
Pros:- Eight outlets in a 1U rackmount format
- 15 A maximum current with a built-in circuit breaker
- Surge and ground indicator LEDs plus an illuminated power/reset switch
- Steel chassis and six-foot cord
Cons:- Requires a 19-inch rack at least four inches deep
- Eight outlets provide less capacity than the CyberPower CPS1215RMS and Tecmojo 12-outlet models
- Six-foot cord is shorter than CyberPower’s 15-foot cord
Best for: Owners of 19-inch racks at least four inches deep who need eight outlets, a 15 A rating, and visible surge and ground status.
Not ideal for: Buyers with shallow or nonstandard racks, or those needing 12 outlets and a longer cord; CyberPower offers more outlets and a 15-foot lead.
- Model:RKPW081915
- Rack size and fit:1U; 19-inch racks at least 4 inches deep
- Outlets:8
- Voltage and current:120 V, 15 A maximum
- Power cord:6 ft (1.8 m)
- Indicators and controls:Surge and ground LEDs; illuminated power/reset switch
- Protection:Surge protection and built-in circuit breaker
- Chassis:Steel
Our verdict“Choose StarTech for a compatible 19-inch rack that needs a compact eight-outlet, 15 A PDU with clear status indicators.”
BTU 12-Outlet Rack-Mount Power Strip Surge Protector, 15A, 6 ft Cord
The BTU QP2 makes the most sense when bulky adapters are the main headache: its 12 widely spaced outlets help keep oversized plugs from blocking neighboring sockets. It fits a standard 1U, 19-inch rack, and adjustable brackets also allow wall or workbench installation, giving it more placement flexibility than the rack-focused VEVOR 8-Outlet PDU. A covered switch and 15A circuit breaker add practical power control, but the 160-joule surge rating is modest compared with the CyberPower RKBS15S2F10R’s 3600 joules. I’d choose this for organizing equipment and expanding outlet access, not as the strongest surge-defense option in this group. Its metal body is useful for a fixed installation, though the six-foot cord may constrain rack placement.
Pros:- 12 widely spaced outlets accommodate larger plugs
- Fits standard 19-inch racks in a 1U space
- Adjustable brackets support rack, wall, or workbench mounting
- Metal enclosure, covered switch, and built-in 15A circuit breaker
Cons:- 160-joule surge rating is modest for equipment needing stronger surge protection
- Six-foot cord can limit placement when the rack is far from an outlet
Best for: Small studios or network closets with several bulky adapters that need a rack-compatible strip and flexible mounting.
Not ideal for: Buyers prioritizing stronger documented surge capacity, since its 160-joule rating is far below the CyberPower RKBS15S2F10R’s 3600 joules.
- Outlets:12, widely spaced
- Rack format:1U, standard 19-inch rack
- Surge protection:160 joules
- Maximum current:15 A
- Voltage:120 V
- Power cord:6 ft
- Enclosure:Metal
- Mounting:Rack-mount with adjustable brackets for other surfaces
Our verdict“Choose the BTU QP2 when outlet spacing and mounting flexibility matter more than high surge-energy capacity.”
8 Outlet Rack Mount PDU Power Strip, 15A, 125V, 1875W
This 1U PDU is a straightforward fit for a rack that needs eight outlets and a sturdy aluminum housing, without extra charging ports or a large outlet count. Its 15A overload switch and six-foot, 14 AWG cord cover the basics for a standard North American installation. Compared with the Pyle PCO865, it is far less ambitious: the Pyle offers 19 outlets, four USB ports, and a 15-foot cord, while this unit keeps the layout compact and the feature set pared back. The tradeoff is that the supplied details do not state a joule rating or describe a distinct surge-protection specification, so I would not pick it over the CyberPower RKBS15S2F10R when clearly specified surge capacity is a priority. Eight outlets can also run short in a densely populated rack.
Pros:- Aluminum alloy housing suits a fixed rack installation
- Compact 1U format fits standard 19-inch racks
- 15A overload switch provides basic overload protection
- Six-foot, 14 AWG cord offers some flexibility for rack placement
Cons:- Eight outlets may not support a large equipment stack
- Product data does not specify a surge-protection joule rating
- North American Type B plug limits use with other outlet standards
Best for: Home-lab owners or small offices who want a basic, metal 1U rack strip with an overload switch and a North American plug.
Not ideal for: Buyers with many devices or those who need a clearly documented surge-energy rating, since outlet capacity is limited and no joule figure is supplied.
- Outlets:8
- Rack format:1U, standard 19-inch rack
- Maximum current:15 A
- Voltage:125 V
- Maximum power:1875 W
- Power cord:6 ft, 14 AWG
- Enclosure:Aluminum alloy
- Plug:Type B, 3-pin
Our verdict“Pick this unit for a compact, durable rack power strip, but choose a model with stated surge capacity if surge suppression is your main requirement.”
Pyle PCO865 19-Outlet 1U Rackmount Power Distribution Unit with 4 USB Ports
The Pyle PCO865 is the outlet-capacity pick: 19 AC outlets, split between the front and rear, plus four USB ports can consolidate power for a busy workstation or equipment rack. Detachable flanges allow rack, wall, or under-counter mounting, while the 15-foot cord helps when the nearest receptacle is not close. Compared with the BTU QP2, it gives you seven more outlets and USB charging, but its listed 18.8-inch depth and 7.1-pound weight call for more room and support than a lighter strip. The plastic enclosure is another tradeoff against the metal-bodied CyberPower RKBS15S2F10R. It includes surge protection and a 15A breaker, but the supplied data gives no joule rating, so buyers seeking a quantified surge capacity have less information for comparison.
Pros:- 19 outlets accommodate a large collection of powered devices
- Four USB ports provide additional device-charging connections
- Detachable flanges support rack, wall, or under-counter installation
- 15-foot cord and built-in 15A circuit breaker
Cons:- Long cord can be cumbersome in a compact installation
- Plastic enclosure is less substantial than the metal-bodied CyberPower RKBS15S2F10R
- No surge-energy rating is provided in the product data
Best for: AV installers or workstation owners who need many AC connections, USB charging, and a long cord for flexible placement.
Not ideal for: Compact rack owners or buyers who want a metal enclosure and a stated joule rating for comparing surge protection.
- Outlets:19 total: 3 front and 16 rear
- USB ports:4
- Rack format:1U, 19-inch rack
- Circuit breaker:15 A
- Voltage:240 V
- Power cord:15 ft
- Dimensions:18.8 × 13.3 × 1.7 in
- Weight and enclosure:7.1 lb; plastic enclosure
Our verdict“Choose the Pyle PCO865 when outlet count and USB access outweigh enclosure material and a clearly quantified surge rating.”
CyberPower RKBS15S2F10R Rackmount Surge Protector
The CyberPower RKBS15S2F10R leads this group when the priority is documented surge protection: its 3600-joule rating is substantially higher than the BTU QP2’s 160 joules. It also supplies 12 outlets, with two up front for frequently accessed equipment and ten at the rear, plus EMI/RFI filtering and status indicators. Flexible 1U, vertical, and under-counter mounting gives it more installation options than a rack-only strip, while the 15-foot cord can reach across a larger setup. The tradeoff is a firm 15A limit, so it is not a path to powering a higher-load system. Compared with the Pyle PCO865, it has fewer outlets and no listed USB ports, but offers a metal housing and a stated surge rating. I’d favor it for protection-focused rack installations.
Pros:- 3600-joule surge-protection rating
- 12 outlets split between front and rear access
- Supports 1U rack, vertical rack, and under-counter mounting
- Metal housing, status indicators, and EMI/RFI noise filtering
Cons:- Designed for 15A applications and cannot serve higher-current loads
- Fewer outlets than the Pyle PCO865, which provides 19
- 15-foot cord can leave excess cable in compact racks
Best for: Small businesses or home-lab operators who want a stated high joule rating, 12 outlets, and multiple mounting options for 15A equipment.
Not ideal for: Users with loads beyond 15A or installations that need more than 12 outlets or integrated USB charging.
- Outlets:12: 2 front and 10 rear
- Surge protection:3600 joules
- Voltage and current:120 V, 15 A
- Mounting:1U rack, 0U vertical rack, or under-counter
- Power cord:15 ft
- Housing:Industrial-grade metal
- Filtering and indicators:EMI/RFI noise filter; status indicators
- Safety certification:UL listed
Our verdict“Choose the CyberPower when a clearly stated 3600-joule rating and flexible mounting matter more than maximum outlet count.”
VEVOR 8-Outlet 1U Rack-Mount PDU Power Strip with Surge and Overload Protection
The VEVOR is a compact choice for a smaller rack that needs eight outlets, a metal enclosure, and stated surge protection without moving to the Pyle PCO865’s much larger 19-outlet layout. Its 1800-joule rating is also well above the BTU QP2’s 160 joules, giving buyers a clearer, stronger surge specification than that model. A 15A overload breaker and included rack screws suit a conventional 1U setup, but the unit’s switch controls power for the strip rather than each outlet independently. That makes it less convenient than a PDU with per-outlet switching when you need to restart one device without interrupting the rest. The six-foot cord is manageable in a compact installation, though the fixed 15A maximum rules it out for higher-current equipment.
Pros:- 1800-joule surge-protection rating
- Metal enclosure and included rack-mount screws
- Built-in overload breaker for a 15A setup
- Six-foot, 14/3 AWG cord
Cons:- Eight outlets may not be enough for a larger rack
- Built-in switch controls the strip rather than individual outlets
- Maximum current is limited to 15A
Best for: Home-lab builders with a standard 19-inch rack who need a metal 1U strip with eight outlets and a stated surge rating.
Not ideal for: Operators who need more than eight connections, individual outlet control, or capacity beyond 15A.
- Outlets:8, NEMA 5-15P
- Rack format:1U, 19-inch rack
- Surge protection:1800 joules
- Voltage:110–125 V
- Maximum current:15 A
- Power cord:6 ft, 14/3 AWG
- Enclosure:Metal
- Dimensions and weight:19.13 × 4.92 in; 4 lb
Our verdict“Choose the VEVOR for a compact metal 1U installation with more stated surge capacity than the BTU QP2, provided eight outlets are enough.”

How We Picked
I compared these 15 products as rackmount surge suppressors, not as generic power strips. The main criteria were the stated surge-protection features, outlet count and arrangement, rack-unit fit, current and voltage specifications where supplied, cord length, and practical controls such as individual switches or USB ports. I also looked at how clearly each listing identifies its electrical limits, since an appealing outlet count is less useful if a buyer cannot confirm the unit’s fit for the rack or circuit.
The ranking favors products that present a useful balance of documented protection, rack compatibility, and everyday usability. Options with 12 outlets earn attention for larger setups, while compact 1U models may be a better match when rack space is tight. Products with fewer clearly supplied specifications or unclear protection details rank below options whose stated features make comparison easier. I do not treat outlet count, overload protection, or a product’s PDU label as proof of a particular surge rating; buyers should verify the manufacturer’s current documentation before purchase.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Rackmount Surge Suppressor
I’d choose a rackmount suppressor by checking compatibility and protection details before counting outlets. These broader checks can prevent common mismatches that a feature list alone may not reveal.
Match Surge Ratings to the Equipment You Need to Protect
Look for a published surge rating, clamping voltage, and response information in the manufacturer’s documentation rather than assuming every rack power strip offers the same protection. A unit may advertise overload protection or a resettable breaker, but those features address different electrical risks from suppressing transient surges. For network, storage, or audio equipment that would be costly to replace, the protection specification deserves more attention than a high outlet count. Check whether the manufacturer explains how the protection status is indicated and what to do after a major surge. If the listing omits key details, verify them before buying or choose a model with clearer documentation. A suppressor also cannot correct bad grounding or guarantee protection from every event, so assess the building’s electrical setup as part of the decision.
Check Rack Height, Depth, and Mounting Options
A 1U label describes vertical space, not whether a unit will fit your rack’s depth or mounting arrangement. Measure usable space around rails, rear doors, cable managers, and neighboring equipment before choosing a front- or rear-mounted unit. Some products in this roundup use 1U formats, while the Jgstkcity is listed as 1.5U, which can matter in a crowded rack. Confirm whether mounting hardware and reversible brackets are included; do not assume that all racks use the same rail spacing or screw style. Also check where the outlets and power cord sit, since a rear-facing connection layout may be awkward in a shallow cabinet. Leaving a little room for airflow and cable bends can be more useful than filling every available rack unit.
Plan for Plug Size and Cable Access, Not Just Outlet Count
Twelve or even 19 outlets sound generous, but a run of closely spaced sockets can lose capacity when several devices have bulky adapters. Before buying, list the plugs you need to connect and note which ones are angled, oversized, or attached to stiff cables. Compare the outlet orientation with your rack’s access: rear-facing sockets may keep cables tidy, while front-facing ones can be easier to reach but more exposed. USB ports, as found on the Pyle PCO865, can be handy for charging or powering small accessories, but they should not decide the purchase if your rack mainly needs standard equipment outlets. Consider cable labels or short extension leads for awkward plugs, while keeping the rack orderly and within the product’s rated load. A smaller outlet count with accessible spacing can outperform a denser strip in daily use.
Confirm Circuit Capacity and Total Load
Adding a rackmount suppressor does not increase the capacity of the circuit feeding it. Add up the expected draw of connected equipment and compare that load with the suppressor’s stated current rating and the circuit’s limits. A 15A label, where specified, is a maximum electrical rating—not a target load or a promise that every connected device can run at full draw at once. Check equipment labels or manufacturer specifications instead of estimating from outlet count. Servers, amplifiers, and other high-draw devices can change the load picture quickly, especially when several start at the same time. For a rack with substantial or critical loads, ask a qualified electrician or facilities professional to confirm the circuit and grounding.
Separate Power Distribution Features from Protection Features
A PDU distributes power to multiple devices, while a surge suppressor adds a protective function that should be supported by specific ratings and documentation. Product titles often combine these terms, so verify what the manufacturer actually specifies instead of relying on the category name. Individual outlet switches, like those listed for the Jgstkcity, can make it easier to control selected devices, but they are not a replacement for surge protection or safe shutdown procedures. Likewise, a circuit breaker helps respond to an overload; it does not necessarily confirm the unit’s surge performance. Decide whether you need simple distribution, outlet-level control, documented surge suppression, or a combination. This distinction helps avoid paying for controls you will not use while overlooking the protection information that matters to your equipment.
Choose Cord Length and Status Monitoring for Your Rack Layout
A 6-foot cord appears on several products in this roundup, but the right length depends on where the rack sits relative to the outlet and how the cord must route around other gear. Measure the route rather than the straight-line distance, leaving slack for a clean bend without pulling the unit or stressing the plug. Avoid relying on an extension cord unless the product maker and site electrical rules permit that setup. For equipment that must remain protected, check how the unit signals a fault or loss of protection; a status indicator is useful only if it is visible and someone knows what it means. Establish a simple inspection routine for the cord, mounting hardware, and protection indicators. Replacing a device after a significant surge may be appropriate, depending on its specifications and the manufacturer’s guidance.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use a rackmount PDU as a surge suppressor?
Only if the specific model documents surge suppression as a feature and provides the relevant protection specifications. A PDU label generally describes power distribution, not the level of surge protection. Check the manufacturer’s documentation for ratings and status indicators, and distinguish those details from a breaker or overload feature. If the listing is vague, contact the manufacturer rather than assuming the unit protects connected equipment. For costly or critical devices, choose a model whose protection claims can be verified.
Is a 12-outlet model always better than an 8-outlet model?
No; outlet count matters only if the sockets are accessible and the unit can safely handle the connected load. Large adapters can block nearby outlets, while dense cabling can make maintenance harder. An 8-outlet model may suit a small rack better if its layout leaves room for plugs and cable bends. Compare outlet orientation, spacing, and your actual equipment plugs before choosing. Then check the unit and circuit ratings against the total load.
What should I verify before installing a suppressor in a 1U rack?
Confirm the unit’s height, mounting depth, rail compatibility, and the space needed for the cord and connected plugs. Check whether the mounting hardware is included and whether the outlet face will remain reachable after installation. Verify the voltage and current ratings against your rack’s supply and equipment load. Review the manufacturer’s surge specifications instead of treating a 1U form factor as evidence of protection. Finally, plan cable routing so cords do not obstruct airflow or pull on the mounted unit.
Do individual outlet switches make a rackmount suppressor safer?
Individual switches can make it easier to turn selected devices on or off, but they do not automatically improve surge protection. Switching critical equipment off at the wrong time may interrupt storage, networking, or other processes that need an orderly shutdown. Check whether the switches are protected from accidental contact and whether the devices connected to them support manual power cycling. For surge safety, rely on the product’s documented protection features and proper grounding. Treat switches as a convenience feature, not as a substitute for those safeguards.
When should I replace a rackmount surge suppressor?
Follow the manufacturer’s guidance on service life, protection-status indicators, and replacement after a surge event. Some units can show when protection has failed, while others may not provide a clear indication; check the documentation for the exact model. Replace a unit if its cord, plug, housing, or mounting points show damage, or if it reports loss of protection. A breaker trip alone does not tell you whether the surge components remain functional. When protection status is uncertain after a major event, consult the manufacturer rather than assuming the unit is still protecting equipment.
Conclusion
For most buyers seeking a rack-ready option with a useful outlet count, I’d begin with the Eaton Tripp Lite IBAR12ULTRA as the best overall pick, and compare it with the CyberPower CPS1215RMS if a 12-outlet layout better fits the equipment list. The best value is the Tecmojo 1U 8-outlet PDU for buyers prioritizing a straightforward compact layout, provided its current protection specifications meet their needs. For a premium-leaning, clearly specified 1U choice, I’d shortlist the StarTech RKPW081915, while beginners may prefer a simple 8-outlet model with clearly documented electrical limits and easy-to-read status information. Choose the Pyle PCO865 when USB ports and a very high outlet count suit a less space-sensitive setup, or the Jgstkcity when individual switches matter more than a standard 1U footprint. Before ordering any of them, confirm surge ratings, total load, rack fit, and cord reach; those checks matter more than the product name alone.
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.


















