AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: How OpenAI’s ChatGPT Pro Changes Affect Your Plan on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to the $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan and increased shared Work and Codex allowances on its $100, $200 and $500 Pro tiers. The changes took effect October 29, 2026, with existing subscribers receiving them automatically; other limits and prices are mostly unchanged.

OpenAI canceled a planned usage cut to its $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan and increased the shared Work and Codex allowance on its $100, $200 and $500 Pro tiers, the company said in release notes on October 29. The change came one day before the scheduled Pro 200 reduction and applies automatically to existing subscribers, while prices remain unchanged.

OpenAI’s release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now have twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. The two products draw on the same allowance, so additional use of one reduces what remains for the other. OpenAI describes Work as a mode for longer tasks, while Codex is its coding agent. The change concerns that shared pool, not every ChatGPT limit.

For Pro 200, the outcome depends on the allowance a subscriber previously had. OpenAI’s updated help page says the lower allowance doubled to match the higher one; people already receiving the higher allowance keep it. The planned reduction announced in September has been canceled. The same help page says existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, without waiting for a renewal.

OpenAI says Plus usage and prices are unchanged. Pro 100 and Pro 500 retain their existing weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits, while the lower weekly limit on Pro 200 now matches its higher one. The faster Ultrafast mode remains exclusive to Pro 500. Business Premium seats receive more Work and Codex usage, but OpenAI’s release note does not state a numerical increase. The company did not announce changes for Free, Go or Business Standard.

At a glance
updateWhen: Announced October 29, 2026; changes eff…
The developmentOpenAI reversed a scheduled Pro 200 allowance reduction and raised Work and Codex usage on its Pro tiers.
Thorsten Meyer AI
ChatGPT plans

Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026

What each ChatGPT plan gets now.

OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.

2×Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500
20×Plus on Pro 200 again, for everyone (my arithmetic, OpenAI’s Sept scale)
$0price changes on any plan
1Pro plan with Ultrafast: Pro 500

Pro 100$100 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • No Ultrafast

Pro 200$200 / month

Cut cancelledRestored
  • Higher allowance: you keep it
  • Lower allowance: doubled to match
  • Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one

Pro 500$500 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • Only Pro plan with Ultrafast

Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat

Moreno factor publishedIncreased
  • Release note: usage “increasing”
  • Tibo’s post: “doubling”
  • No five-hour limit

Plus$20 / month

SameUnchanged
  • “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)

Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free

—Not mentioned
  • Not part of the 29 Oct notes

What “Work and Codex” means

  • ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
  • Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
  • Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan

What did not double

  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
  • Plus usage, and every price
  • Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately

Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers

Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

How the New Limits Affect Subscribers

The update changes the amount of work subscribers can do with Work and Codex, but it does not mean every plan now gets twice as much ChatGPT usage. Users deciding whether to upgrade should distinguish this shared allowance from chat-message limits, access to particular speed modes and other plan features. OpenAI says actual usage varies according to the model, task and speed mode, so a doubled allowance does not necessarily translate into twice as many completed tasks.

For Pro 200 customers, the reversal means the anticipated October 30 reduction will not take effect. For Pro 100 and Pro 500 customers, the higher allowance gives more room for work in the two linked products, without changing the monthly bill. Business customers may also see a larger allowance per Premium seat, though the company has not published a multiplier in its release notes. That leaves organizations with a practical planning issue: the Business Premium increase is not quantified, and usage limits can differ from seat costs and API budgets.

Products Worth Considering

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Bluetooth Headphones with Active Noise Cancellation, Mic, USB‑C Charging, Deep Bass, 24‑Hour Battery – White Smok

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Bluetooth Headphones with Active Noise Cancellation, Mic, USB‑C Charging, Deep Bass, 24‑Hour Battery – White Smok

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Noise-Cancelling Over-Ear Headphones, Black

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Noise-Cancelling Over-Ear Headphones, Black

Bose QuietComfort True Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation, Black

Bose QuietComfort True Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation, Black

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

From September Cut to October Reversal

The change follows a series of adjustments to OpenAI’s paid plans. On September 10, OpenAI paused new sign-ups for Pro 200. TechCrunch reported that OpenAI product lead Thibault Sottiaux attributed the move to demand for the company’s GPT-6 Astra model. On September 29, OpenAI reopened Pro 200 and introduced Pro 500. A company notice said included usage allowances were changing, with further details to be sent to affected users.

That September notice set out a scale in which Plus equaled one unit, Pro 100 five and Pro 200 ten, according to Sottiaux’s public post. Existing Pro 200 subscribers with the higher allowance were told they would keep a 20-times-Plus allowance temporarily. The planned October 30 reduction prompted concern among customers paying $200 a month. On October 29, OpenAI reversed that cut and increased allowances on other Pro tiers. The company’s help page provides the most specific plan-by-plan account; Sottiaux’s broader social-media wording does not match all the details in that page.

“We heard your kind feedback.”

— Thibault Sottiaux, in a post on X

Business Premium Increase Lacks a Figure

OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but does not provide a percentage or multiplier. Sottiaux said in a post that limits were doubling across the listed Pro tiers and Business Premium, but the company’s help page and release notes give more limited detail. The size of the Business Premium increase is not specified in the official release note, so customers should not treat a precise doubling as confirmed by that document.

It is also unclear how the higher Work and Codex allowance will translate into completed tasks for individual users. OpenAI says consumption depends on the model, task and speed mode. The October 29 announcement does not give a universal task count, nor does it announce changes to Free, Go or Business Standard. Those plans should be treated as unchanged only where OpenAI explicitly says so; the release notes do not address them.

Check Your Plan’s Usage Page

Subscribers do not need to take action to receive the stated allowance updates. OpenAI says existing subscribers are updated automatically, without waiting for their next billing date. Users can check their account’s usage information to see the allowance available to their plan and track how Work and Codex share it.

Businesses reviewing seat costs should confirm the allowance shown for each plan rather than assume every limit doubled. OpenAI has not announced a further date for changes to these limits. Any additional clarification, especially a numerical figure for Business Premium, would need to come from a subsequent company update.

Key Questions

Did OpenAI double every ChatGPT Pro limit?

No. OpenAI says the Work and Codex allowance doubled on Pro 100 and Pro 500. Other limits differ by tier: Pro 100 and Pro 500 keep their weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits, and Ultrafast remains available only on Pro 500.

What changed for the $200 Pro plan?

OpenAI canceled the planned reduction. On Pro 200, the lower Work and Codex allowance doubled to match the higher allowance; subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it. The lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit also now matches the higher one.

Do current subscribers need to renew to get the change?

No. OpenAI’s updated help page says existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, without waiting for renewal.

Did the monthly prices change?

No price changes were announced. The listed Pro prices remain $100, $200 and $500 a month; OpenAI also says Plus usage is unchanged. Business Premium pricing is listed as $100 per user monthly when billed annually or $125 monthly.

How much more usage does Business Premium get?

OpenAI’s release note confirms an increase but does not state a number. Sottiaux said the limits were doubling, but the official release note does not give a Business Premium multiplier.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

Forza Horizon 6 Climbing The Steam Charts

Forza Horizon 6 has surged in popularity, reaching the 4th position on Steam’s most-played games with over 21,400 players at peak, indicating a significant rise in interest.

What To Know About The 10 Best Network Attached Storage Devices For 2027

A ThorstenMeyerAI.com roundup compares 10 NAS devices by drive bays, included storage, expandability and setup needs.

GPT-6 And The Future Of Intelligent UI For All

A headline links GPT-6 with an intelligent interface for everyone, but no release, feature, access plan or OpenAI announcement is verified.

Game 2: Both Teams Destroy Inhibitors?

Both teams destroyed inhibitors in Game 2, marking a significant shift in gameplay strategies. Details are still emerging about the implications.